Perfect….Key Lime Pie

18 Jun

I’m not much of a pie person- but this pie is special.The filling is smooth and bursting with lime zest while the crust is crunchy and buttery rich- both of which work together extremely well. In my eyes, it is THE perfect key lime pie. Its easy and quick to prepare but also looks divine decorated with dollops of cream and thin slices of lime as I have done in the picture. I was recently asked to cater fingerfood and desserts for a party.. My first time getting paid for doing something I love! (sweet)

Recipe adapted from ‘The Hummingbird Bakery’ Book

Filling

8 egg yolks
2 397g tins of condensed milk
freshly squeezed juice and grated zest of 5 limes (The recipe states no need for food colouring as the zest does the job, but I always add 3-4 drops of green for the extra kitsch touch) and an additional 1 lime, for decoration
200ml cream (single/double, whichever you can get)

Crust
500g digestive biscuits
200g butter, melted

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees. Roughly break up the digestive biscuits and put them in a food processor (I do about four lots). Process until finely ground. Put the crumbs in a large mixing bowl, and pour the melted butter in, and stir. Press the mixture into the base and neatly up the side of the prepared pie dish, using a tablespoon to flatten and compress. Bake in the preheated oven for 20 minutes, until deep golden and firm. Set aside to cool completely.

Turn the oven down to 150 degrees. Put the egg yolks, condensed milk and lime juice in a mixing bowl, and mix with a whisk until smooth (It will naturally thicken) Pour into the cold pie crust and bake in the oven for 20 – 30 minutes. Pull it out when it’s firm to the touch, and not at all wobbly. Leave to cool completely. (I made it the day before serving and chilled it in a cold room overnight)

Whip the cream until it reaches firm peaks and place ina piping bag with a star shaped nozzle attached. Slice the extra lime thinly. Pipe cream in any pattern you like around the pie and finish with lime slices. (The initial recipe states to use 450ml cream and cover the pie entirely but I prefer it this way. It’s just down to personal taste really) Remove from the tin, Slice and enjoy the tangy celebration about to unfold!!

Image

Image

Image

ImageAbove: The food I was asked to provide for a party: My first time catering for mula!

Left-right: Strawberry and raspberry roulade, Key Lime Pie, Sherry Trifle, Cucumber and Salmon Rillette with Dill, mini Roast Beef Yorkshire Puddings with Horseradish cream, Mini Goats Cheese and Homemade red onion relish tartlets, Another roulade.

ImageAbove: The dessert side of my catering venture.

Left-Right: Roulade, Trifle, Key Lime Pie, Almond Macaroons, Shortbread (Which I will be posting the recipe of soon, it is the PERFECT shortbread in my eyes)

8 Responses to “Perfect….Key Lime Pie”

  1. Sinead June 18, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

    Well done, everything looks so good πŸ™‚

    • littlemuffinblog June 18, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

      Thanks a million πŸ™‚ will hopefully be posting some of the recipes to the other food I made for the party soon.

  2. bakeaffairs June 19, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    This Buffet looks great! I love Lime Pie πŸ™‚

  3. dvb-t June 21, 2013 at 6:15 am #

    Awsome site! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am taking your feeds also

  4. lovefoodlovefitnesslovelife June 22, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    Hi, I absolutely love reading your blog. You’re very creative and obviously a brilliant baker. πŸ™‚ I’ve nominated you for the Liebster award. Read this post for full details. http://lovefoodlovefitnesslovelife.wordpress.com/2013/06/22/liebster-award/

  5. Allstate Tucson July 20, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    MMMM. That looks really good. I’m hungry for sweets now.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Berry simple ‘Summer Roulade’ | Little Muffin Blog - July 15, 2014

    […] the egg yolks and whites. You could useΒ the yolks to make my key lime pie.Β For the recipe click here. Put the whites and sugar into the mixer bowl and pop on the whisk attachment. Put the mixer on the […]

Leave a Reply

