Liebster Award

26 Jun

Hello all! I was recently nominated for the Liebster award by the very kind Loren over at  Love Fitness Love Life Blog.

I must admit, I had primarily thought this comment was dreaded SPAM until I clicked on to the blogs ‘Liebster Award’ post which explained what it was. The Liebster award is basically a way for new blogs, like mine to get themselves known. I was very humbled to receive this nomination as blogging can be a a lot of work and it’s nice to know some of my time and effort is being rewarded!

Okay.. So here’s how it works…

Rules for accepting a Liebster Award:

  • The award is given by bloggers to bloggers with fewer than 1000 followers.
  • Each blogger should answer the questions the tagger has set you.
  • Choose eleven new bloggers to pass the award to, and link them in your post.
  • Create eleven new questions for the chosen bloggers.
  • Go back to their page and tell them about the award.
  • Each blogger should post eleven random facts about themselves.

Here are my answers to the eleven questions which lovefoodlovefitnesslovelife.wordpress.com posted:

Where did your passion for cooking originate?

My family. My granny was a terrific baker and always encouraged me to cook as often as I could. Her talents were passed on to my mother, who has taught me more than you can imagine in the kitchen. She is an amazing cook, both sweet and savoury and her berry roulades are legendary! We are the ideal cooking duo; She does the savoury while I do the sweet.My interest in cooking has flourished from a sideline interest to an extreme passion; most of this being down to my mother.

Who is your greatest culinary influence?

My mum definately influenced me hugely when I was younger. Since then I have been taking huge inspiration from TV chefs. I love (and I mean truly LOVE) a cooking show called ‘Barefoot Contessa’ by the American TV chef Ina Garten. Her style of cooking is indulgent but so simple and tastes amazing. It’s one of my many aims in life to meet her someday. Given the fact I live a mere 10 minutes away from the legendary Ballymaloe Cooking school, I also have to pay credit to the amazing Darina Allen. She has done so much for Irish food as a whole and her recipes in the Ballymaloe Cookery Course Cookbook are faultless.

What is your all-time favourite dish?

Ooh. Now that’s a tough one. I suppose in terms of savoury food; you simply can’t beat a joint of pork with crunchy crackling and apple sauce in my eyes. But when it comes to sweet; I have so many favourites! It’s too hard to choose just one… Chocolate Fondant with vanilla ice cream, anything white chocolate with raspberries and my mum’s famous Berry roulade would all be up there.

What is your preferred cuisine?

I don’t have a preferred style- I mostly like them all. I’m not too keen on spices though so spicy Chinese and Indian dishes wouldn’t be for me!

What is your favourite memory as a child?

I can remember mixing up the collossal batches of fruit cake batter for the dozens of Christmas Cakes my granny would make each year. We’d have to use a washed out basin the size of a cement mixer to mix it up in! To this day the smell of a fruit cake baking reminds me of her.

If you could visit somewhere foreign right now, where would you choose?

Italy. Hands down. All of my family have been there with the exception of myself. The food is supposed to be incredible over there.

Currently, what is your favourite blog and why?

I love Donal Skehan’s home cooked kitchen blog. He has great ideas and his recipes use accessible ingredients unlike some of the American blog recipes; which I find can sometimes be difficult to get the ingredients for over here in Ireland!

What are/is your all-time favourite cookbook and/or novel?

I feel I have to give the Hummingbird bakery book a mention here as I love the American Kitsch style of their recipes. However, the ultimate cooking book in my eyes has to be Darina Allen’s Cookery Course cookbook. Ballymaloe do a 12-week certificate course in the cooking school, all of the recipes for which are in this ‘bible’. It has absolutely everything in it from breads to cakes to desserts to finger food and is a must buy in my opinion. I certainly couldn’t live without it!!

What is the wildest thing you’ve ever done? 

Agreed to make over 200 biscuits the night before for my sister’s wedding. Results still to come from that one…….

What do you enjoy spending your time doing the most?

It’s gonna sound cliche, but baking. Baking is when I’m at my happiest.

What is your ultimate dream in life?

To own a bakery someday. That would be amazing.

11 Random facts about myself

  1. I hate most fish except for cod and haddock
  2. I detest coriander
  3. I never have my nails unpainted
  4. I did a one month certificate cooking course in Cooks Academy, Dublin
  5. I love animals, especially dogs
  6. I can’t live without ketchup (has to be HEINZ)
  7. Next year I’ll be doing the dreaded leaving cert
  8. I once took down a small jar of nutella…on my own
  9. I love Pretty Little Liars
  10. I hate scary movies
  11. I hate spiders and anything creepy crawly!

Here are my 11 fabulous nominees:

Here are my 11 questions for my nominees:

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. What is your all time favourite dish that you’ve cooked?
  3. Who do you get your cooking inspiration from?
  4. Why do you like to cook/bake?
  5. What is your go-to recipe that you cook time and time again?
  6. Is there any TV chef you don’t like and why?
  7. Name your PERFECT 3 course meal, from starter to dessert.
  8. Whats your one thing in the kitchen you couldn’t live without?
  9. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?
  10. If you were to publish a cooking book what would you call it?
  11. What is your earliest memory of cooking?
2 Responses to “Liebster Award”

  1. girlinafoodfrenzy June 27, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    Hi Rachel, saw your post and just wanted to stop by and say congrats to you on your blog award. As for crispy joints of sweet roasted pork and ultra crisp crackling, definitely count me in! I don’t know if I could give you a run for your money in (taking down a Nutella jar,) but I could certainly give it a try. Sounds like your pursuing your dream of owning a bakery one day, baking is definitely one of the happiest ‘me times’ I can think of too.

    Happy cooking!

    • littlemuffinblog June 28, 2013 at 11:29 am #

      Hi Alice, Thanks a million for your kind words. I was delighted to get it and completely suprised! My Nutella eating skills are quite impressive alright! Fingers crossed that someday the whole bakery thing will happen. I’m glad I nominated your blog, it really does deserve it! I particularly love the look of your pastry swans (Yes I may have been slightly drooling looking at the photos…….) Look forward to seeing your Liebster post.

Leave a Reply

