Simple Summer Supper

23 Jul

Hello all! I’ve been extremely busy the last couple of weeks, so apologies in advance for not posting sooner! I know my posts are usually of the sweet variety, but last night I had the most amazing, yet simple supper. I just had to share it with you! For the salad, I par cooked for 60 seconds and then blanched the courgette simply because I personally don’t like it raw, but I will write the recipe without this step because I know I am a little strange for doing so!

Roast Duck legs with a courgette, pea, mint and feta salad

Serves 2 -3 depending on how hungry you are!

For the duck legs

10 duck legs
1 orange
salt and pepper

Slice the oranges into quarters and place the duck legs on a deep heavy duty baking tray (it needs to be large so the legs will cook evenly and not fry in all of the fat that they leave off). Place the legs on the tray and squeeze the orange juice over. Place the squeezed orange wedges alongside the legs and season generously with salt (and pepper if you like it, which personally I hate). Place in a cold oven and turn it on to 200C to heat. This is vital- As the oven heats up the fat renders down from the legs giving a crispy, caramel like skin. Let them cook for 1-1 1/2 hours turning them half way through. When they are tender and a deep golden brown, they are done.

For the Salad

1 medium courgette
2 large handfuls of peas (fresh preferably but frozen will do just fine also)
1 tbsp roughly chopped mint
1/2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tbsp lemon juice (roughly half a lemon)
1/2 tsp salt
1 small clove garlic, crushed
50g feta cheese roughly crumbled

Julienne the courgette (See how to here) and cook and blanch the peas in icy water. I only cook my peas for about a minute or if frozen, just until they are warmed through. Place in a bowl with the chopped mint and make the dressing by mixing the oil, garlic, salt and lemon together, drizzle over and mix. Sprinkle with feta and finish with a fresh sprig of mint.

This is 100% my own concoction/experiment, so I’d love for people to let me know their thoughts on this post! Get commenting people………

DSCN0483

DSCN0482

DSCN0495

DSCN0500

DSCN0505

Leave a Reply

