Millionaire’s Shortbread with Salted Peanuts

26 Oct

Caramel, chocolate and shortbread in one? Yum. Add salted peanuts? You have something ridiculously tasty on your hands! I use Callebaut chocolate for the chocolate topping. I always use a good quality chocolate as it does truly does make a difference- that nasty cooking chocolate simply won’t cut the mustard! I leave mine to set in a cool room, until the chocolate is just set and then slice it in to squares. It’s a much messier/tricky process to do if you put it in to the fridge and the chocolate sets rock solid!

So, here’s the recipe……

23 x 33cm (9″ x 13″) deep swiss roll tin (I think mine is 3/4 inch)

Greaseproof paper

Ingredients

Base

  • 12 oz (300g) soft salted butter & extra for greasing
  • 6 oz (175g) castor sugar (superfine sugar)
  • 12 oz (300g) sifted plain flour (all-purpose flour)
  • 6 oz (175g) corn flour
  • splash of water

Caramel

  • x 2 carnation condensed milk / caramel (I always buy the condensed milk and boil it myself as I find the pre cooked one slightly grainy)

Topping

  • 8 oz (225g) good quality chocolate buttons (I used Callebaut)
  • 250 g large pack roasted and salted peanuts (good quality ones, I used M & S brand)

Bring a large pot of water up to the boil and add the Condensed milk. Boil on a medium to high boil for at least an hour to an hour and a half. Make sure the water is always completely covering the tins- I always allow at least an inch of water above the tins. Preheat the oven to 160 degrees celsius. together butter and sugar with the beater attachment in a food processor or by hand until lightly creamed. Add flours and mix until just mixed as overworking it will result in tough shortbread. Add roughly a teaspoon of water after the dry and wet ingredients are mixed as it will be crumbly until you do so. NOTE: Don’t add the water when adding the flours as the corn flour will form hard lumps- a mistake I did once when I was rushing!

Grease the swiss roll tin and line with greaseproof paper. Press in the shortbread mix and flatten down (I just use my fingers to press it in). Bake for 50-60 minutes until golden brown. (You may need to reduce the heat to 150 C if it’s getting too brown as it must cook for a long time in order to be crunchy) Leave to cool in the tin.

When the tins and shortbread base have completely cooled, open the tins and spread the caramel all over the base….(Of course it’s essential to have a taste of the caramel before it’s put on… just to make sure it’s not poisoned lol) Put the tin uncovered into the fridge while you melt the chocolate. I melt the buttons in a pyrex jug in the microwave for 30 second intervals but over a bain-marie is fine aswell. When it’s melted, take the tin out of the fridge and scatter the salted peanuts evenly over the caramel. Pour the chocolate on and spread in a flat layer. Place in a cool room and cut into squares (I get 16 medium sized ones) when the chocolate has just set. Leave to set further until the chocolate is hard and cut again. Serve and enjoy! Word of warning: I had to fend my family away from these beauties the second they were finished!

IMG_2652 IMG_2657 IMG_2659

Note: The photos show half plain half nutty millionaires shortbread as I had some fussy eaters to work around..

Happy Baking!

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

