Pecan Brownies

23 Mar

Hello all!

With Easter coming up, I thought it was rather fitting to do a chocolate themed post. If you need some Easter cake inspiration, check out my previous post by clicking here.

So for anyone who knows of the Perry Street Market Cafe in Cork, you might know how totally irrestable their brownies are. They do them in a few different flavours, but white chocolate is by far my favourite! As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I was told I have an egg intolerance. I mostly try to keep off them as I definitely find a vast improvement in my skin health when I do, however sometimes I just have to splurge (namely, every time I visit Perry Street to have one of those sacred brownies).

In an effort to recreate their dreamy confection, I stumbled across Jamie Oliver’s ‘vegan’ brownies. I, myself am not vegan, however I find vegan recipes convenient for when I am  trying my best to steer clear of all things eggy. As it is solely eggs I avoid, I often adapt these recipes to suit my needs. I fed these brownies to the family troops and not one of them noticed there wasn’t an egg in sight. Success! The pictures just don’t do them justice! They are honestly the most gooey and delicious brownies and by FAR the best egg free substitute I’ve made to date!

Of course, if you’d like to make the original vegan version, follow the link to the original recipe here.

So here it is! My ‘non vegan version of Jamie O’s vegan brownies minus the eggs’ version. I couldn’t put that as the title now, could I?!

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon sunflower oil
  • 60 g butter (salted) plus extra for greasing
  • 200 g  dark chocolate chopped or in buttons
  • 170 g self-raising flour
  • 3 heaped teaspoons cocoa powder
  • 180 g caster sugar
  • pinch sea salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 230 ml whole milk (pour in gradually, may not need all of it)
  • 200 g pecan nuts
  • Handful milk chocolate buttons

Method 

Preheat the oven to 180ºC/350ºF/gas 4. Grease a square baking tin (roughly 20cm) with a little butter, then line with greaseproof paper.

Place a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water, making sure the base doesn’t touch the water. Break 150g of chocolate into the bowl and allow it to melt, then set aside to cool slightly. Melt the butter and leave to cool.

Meanwhile, sieve the flour and cocoa powder into a large bowl, then stir in the sugar and a pinch of salt. Stir in the oil, butter, milk and melted chocolate until just combined.

Stir in the remaining chocolate, the handful of milk chocolate buttons and most of the pecans, reserving a few for the top. Pour the mixture into the prepared tin, spreading it out evenly. Sprinkle over the remaining pecans, then place into the hot oven for 20 to 25 minutes, or until cooked on the outside, but still gooey in the middle. (NOTE: Very important not to overcook brownies as they will not be gooey and soft and DELICIOUS. I normally bake mine for 16-20 minutes, with 25-30 minutes producing a more cakey like textured brownie)

Leave to cool for around 5 minutes, turn out onto a wire cooling rack. I love mine just warm with a scoop of plain vanilla ice cream. As they say in Cork, ‘You can’t bate it!’.

Happy eating!

– Rachel

DSCN1010DSCN1022DSCN1034

One Response to “Pecan Brownies”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pecan Brownies | homethoughtsfromabroad626 - April 14, 2016

    […] Pecan Brownies […]

Leave a Reply

