Nutty pecan, pumpkin, & cinnamon granola

20 Jul

Hello all!

I haven’t had the time I’d like this summer to dedicate to the blog. I’ve been here there and everywhere (literally), so I’m finally taking a breather from travel/work/general busy-beeing this week to catch up on a few things in my life.

Namely, my room looks like a post earthquake scene and my ‘healthy diet’ regime has been shattered into pieces with all of my non stop going. BUT, this is the week I become my slightly more functioning human self which will be helped by a huge bake up of this glorious granola. Like anyone, I always find it so much easier to eat healthier when I have food ready on hand. I normally make up a large batch of this granola at the start of the week, eventually munching my way through it with Greek Yoghurt, Berries/apples/mango (any type of fruit does the trick) topped off with an extra shake of cinnamon.

There are oats in this granola, which are low GI (Glycaemic Index) meaning they release their energy more slowly, keeping you fuller for longer. Cinnamon also can lower blood sugar levels meaning you won’t have that spike of initial energy and crash straight away after. The ideal ‘I’m getting my $h!t together to be healthy’ kind of breakfast!

So without further ado, I present to you the most scrummiest healthy granola you’ll ever make…. (I’m not biased or anything…)

Makes enough to give roughly 10 servings

Ingredients

  • 50g sunflower seeds
  • 50g pumpkin seeds
  • 50g pecan nuts (split them in halves)
  • 150g jumbo oats (this is important- I find the smaller rolled oats too ‘bitty’)
  • 2 tbsp. coconut oil
  • 1 generous tbsp honey (You can use maple syrup too although the granola will not be as sweet)
  • 1/2 or 1 tsp cinnamon (depending on how strong a cinnamon taste you like)

NOTE: I like these blend of seeds and nuts but you can substitute them for anything you like. Almonds work very well in this recipe also.

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 160 degrees Celsius.
  2. Melt the coconut oil and honey together in a medium pot over a low/medium heat until they start to bubble.
  3. While this is melting, weigh out your dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Add to the coconut oil/honey mixture and stir well until all ingredients are combined.
  4. Place granola on a baking tray lined with parchment.
  5. Bake in the oven for 10-15 minutes keeping a close eye as the granola can burn easily.
  6. Once baked until golden and nutty brown, remove from the oven and let cool. Break the granola up, smashing half into small pieces and keeping the other half large clusters.

 

IMG_1888IMG_1890 (2)

 

2 Responses to “Nutty pecan, pumpkin, & cinnamon granola”

  1. Jasmine S. July 20, 2016 at 3:43 pm #

    A beautiful breakfast!

  2. gavspillane July 27, 2016 at 3:25 pm #

    Reblogged this on gavspillane.

Leave a Reply

